Tuesday Chart – Album Special

krush and toshinori

It’s not always easy, you know, to set aside a decent slab of time every Tuesday and to reflect on the musical meanderings of the previous week.

Temptation is all around us. Instead of fulfilling my duty as a Bite the Belt writer I’ll just listen to FabricLive 07 with John Peel, I’ll just have a quick little mix, I’m just going to research the Hebrew language in the hope of discovering words that could make a good name for when I eventually use Ableton and learn to produce, Jimi Hendrix’s death seems suspicious, maybe there was an element of skulduggery, in fact, I should learn the guitar and, oh, I’ve forgotten to sand my bedroom door down. True story.

Why don’t I write an extended and largely futile intro? Even as I write the article I avoid writing the article.

Somehow though, like most people obsessed with music, the arbitrary flow of the evening can be forgiven. When it leads us to certain LPs time just stops. Here’s a selection of the latest albums we’ve been loving.

Ryan: DJ Krush & Toshinori Kondo – Ki-Oku [Apollo, 1998]

Ki-Oku is a collaboration between one of Japan’s most successful DJs and a jazz trumpeter. Sounds complicated, is complicated. You probably won’t learn the names of any tracks, which instead forces you to remember distinguishing sounds, and don’t be put off by the albums age because this experimental trip hop and future jazz LP is way ahead of its time.

Jack: Ulterior Motive – The Fourth Wall [Metalheadz, 2014]

Have been massively out of the Bite the Belt loop recently due to hectic work commitments but I aim to be back very soon. I’ll start with a banger Ulterior Motives new album on Metalheadz.

Peter: Flying Lotus – You’re Dead [Warp Records, 2014]

I’ve been locked away in a dingy office watching grey skies above a bleak city out of a dirty window for the last week or so but it’s all sweet because I’ve been allowed to wear headphones, and said headphones have been emitting the new Flying Lotus album, You’re Dead. 5*’s

Josh: The Streets – A Grand Don’t Come For Free (and Original Pirate Material. Close toss up) [679 Recordings, 2004]

After two years without a car I’ve finally invested in a motor and am back on the road though my head-unit is lacking in a vital modern day necessity that too many take for granted – a means to connect my iPod. So I’m a man digging through my old CD collection and out of the somewhat questionable nostalgic trove came a double pack collection of The Streets – A Grand Don’t Come For Free and Original Pirate Material. It was a very tough toss-up between the older, more garage-inclined and probably better Original Pirate Material or the anthem containing, chart topping, globally renowned (but still a cult classic) A Grand Don’t Come For Free. The only reason I place AGDCFF is because the opening track, It Was Supposed To Be So Easy, creases me up every time. On the whole the album creases me up and what some people see as cringy romance with no real depth I personally see as a valued lesson to all of the “geezer’s” and perhaps less informed, more immature “lads”… and “ladies” who’ll have loved the album through and through. Both albums are constantly looking back on poor mistakes and try to illiterate the best ways to deal with situations, I.E don’t punch that geezer, step back and look at yourself first… And I rate that.

BtB.

Your thoughts?

