Mix the Belt Episode 006: The 1502160 Experience

Mix the Belt Episode 006 Cover Art

The man behind our blog is back, like a horrible rash that just won’t go away, with his third and our sixth instalment of Mix the Belt.

A somewhere-around-the-60-minute-mark insight into the centre of one of the most prevalent bass music lusts in recent years: the trials and tribulations of 160bpm.

Starting at 150bpm and rising, the mix meanders its way around a complex array of future-hip-hop, footwork, juke & broken beat-rivulets into the upper echelons of 160bpm.

Music on the genre fringe – all collated, blended and mixed by the deft fingers of Bite the Belt head honch, Josh Swanson.

“No genre resides within a formula – music exists within feelings and loose frameworks that should be challenged and explored on every level. The space between 150 and 160 bpm harbours all manner of musical history and evolution, likewise it is a spacious bridge between almost entirely separate genres and one that is impossibly exciting to see re-emerging from the ashes. If something has become a precious, guarded treasure it’s time to find the key and get pilfering!”



01. Jan St. Werner – Feed Opener [Thrill Jockey] / Herbie Hancock – Wisdom [Transparent / Columbia]
02. Resotone – Tactic [Soundhall]
03. Le Motel – Right Business [TAR]
04. Stray – Fragile [Exit]
05. Boeboe – Denim [Basserk]
06. Cat Power – Dreams (Ellie Herring Remix) [Self Released]
07. Mr. Carmack – Lonely Fucking Samurai [N/A]
08. Lee Bannon – 216 [Ninja Tune]
09. Mr. Carmack – Blouses [Self Released]
10. Jo Def – ButtaLove [Soulection]
11. Salute – Made Village [Soundhall]
12. Wax Doctor – Heat [R&S]
13. Justice – Lounge Lizard [MJAZZ]
14. Fracture – Werk It [Exit]
15. Crissy Murderbot – Alright (Calculon & Austin Speed Remix) [Hyperboloid]
16. Moresounds – Ridim Again [Astrophonica]
17. DJ Rashad – Let It Go [Hyperdub]
18. Bonobo – Eyesdown (Machinedrum Remix) [Ninja Tune]
19. Machinedrum – Hazel Ash [Ninja Tune]
20. Machinedrum – SeaSea (DJ Rashad & Taso Remix) [Ninja Tune]
21. DJ Earl – WTF!?! Life Sent It Up [TAR]
22. Jon Phonics presents Tabanca – Mind Games (Pedestrian Remix) [Push & Run]
23. Druid Cloak – Frostmane [Folie Douce]
24. Moresounds – Folcon (House Of Black Laterns Remix) [Astrophonica]
25. Q Project – Champion Sound (The Phillip D Kick Experiment Footwork Edit) [Self Released]
26. Krome & Time – The License (The Phillip D Kick Experiment Footwork Edit) [Self Released]
27. Fanu – Da Movement [N/A]
28. Fanu – Yin Dub [13 Music]
29. Omni Trio – Renegade Snares (The Phillip D Kick Experiment Footwork Edit) [Self Released]
30. David Axelrod – Human Abstract (Om Unit Edit) [Self Released]
31. Mister Lies – Flood You [Self Released]


Your thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s