An interview with – Imotep

imotep

We’re back, for our 3rd interview instalment, once again in the sultry electronics of France. Toulon to be precise and this time with a young gentlemen of 19 years of age.

If you’re anything about music at the minute you’ll be hot on the bizarre and experimental sounds emerging from France, a soft and sexy cross-over between Parisian house, US hip-hop & UK bass. And at the heart of it lie names such as Andrea, Stwo, French Fries and now…

Imotep

Kind as he is, he’s provided us with answers in both French & English for our overseas readers.


“Hello everyone, this is Imotep! I’m a 19 year old electronic producer from France.”

So Impotep, let’s first understand where your taste and style comes from in terms of music. You pump out these downtempo/Bass/house/electronic/mad type productions that are incredibly unique in sound. It’s something very individual to yourself. How is it that you came to flow with this genre? 

Depuis tout petit, je m’intéresse à la musique. Toutes ces sonorités, ces ambiances, c’est ce qui m’as vraiment fais rêver. J’ai l’impression d’être dans un monde en fait, de me projeter quelque part où personne ne viendrais interférer avec mes sentiments.

Concernant mes influences, beaucoup d’artistes m’inspirent. Pour en citer quelques uns, je dirais : Debian Blak, XXYYXX, Kastle, Ifan Dafydd, Lion Gonzalez et bien d’autres..

J’adore vraiment leurs styles, leur façon d’aborder un son est tout simplement sublime pour moi et c’est ce qui me donne des idées pour chacun de mes sons.

Since I was a kid I’ve been interested in music. All these tones, these atmospheres, all those things make me dream. It’s like I’m in my own world, it allows me to throw myself somewhere where nobody can interact with my feelings.

Concerning my influences; lots of artists inspire me. To name some of them, I’d say Debian Blak, XXYYXX, Ifan Dafydd, Lion Gonzalez and many more..

I really like their style, their techs, the way they approach a track, it’s simply awesome and it gives me ideas for my own sounds.

What was it in the music that got you so hooked? 

Comme je l’ai dis, c’est ce monde dans lequel on entre. Vous voyez, quand je sors dans la rue et que je met mes écouteurs, je vois le monde, les gens, différemment. Tout me paraît beau en vérité. Chaque personne, chaque voiture, chaque arbres, chaque choses qui m’entoure, me donne la sensation de vivre autre chose que mon quotidien. Et quand on vit ce genre de choses, on a qu’une envie, faire de la musique pour que d’autres personnes voient justement ce que l’on voit de nos propres yeux.

As I said, it’s that world in which we enter. You see, when I walk in the street and I put on my headphones, I see the world and people differently. It all seems beautiful actually. Each car, each person, each tree, each thing that surrounds me gives me the feeling of living something else other than my daily life. It’s at this point, when you start to live these sorts of things, that you desire to share music, to make people see what you see with your own eyes.

And do you listen to any other artists/genres that are reflective of this musical sound?

Oui. J’écoute vraiment tout type de musique. Quand j’écoute quelque chose de nouveau, je l’écoute deux, trois fois histoire de m’imprégner du son. C’est à dire, essayer de comprendre le travail du mec, qu’il soit indépendant ou pas, j’ai envie de voir où il a eu envie de venir. Par exemple, The Weeknd.

Il a pas mal influencé mes rythmes, notamment dans Leaf ou Over. Ce mec à reussit à m’emmener tellement loin dans ce qu’il composait.

Yes I do. I listen to all types of music. When I listen something new, I listen to it twice or even three times, just to be soaked in it. In other terms, trying to understand the guy’s work, independent or not, I want to know what he suggests, where he wants to bring the audience. For instance the Weeknd. He influenced my percs, just as in Over and Leaf. This guy succeeded in bringing me so far with what he composed.

Did you always know that you were going to do something to do with music? Be a producer?

Non. J’ai composer quelques sons au départ que j’ai fais écouter à quelques amis qui s’y connaissaient. Ils m’ont encouranger, m’ont conseiller et de là mon premier son à fait son apparition.

No I didn’t. I started composing some tracks that some friends of mine listened to and they liked them and gave me pieces of advice. This is when my first track appeared.

What is it like to be a producer in an age where music sharing is so easy and software for production is so readily available? It must have its fair share of pros and cons?

C’est vraiment plaisant. On peut partager sa musique très facilement au monde entier. Bien évidement, il faut réussir à se faire écouter, sachant qu’il y a beaucoup de concurrence grâce à ces moyens de partage. mais on peut quand même faire quelques collaborations qui permettent de se faire connaître un peu plus et de créer certains liens qu’on a pas dans le quotidien.

It’s really enjoyable. We can share our music very easily worldwide. Obviously, you also have to be listened to, knowing that there is a lot of concurrence due to these ways of sharing. We can also make some great collaborations allowing us to be more known and make links that you wouldn’t normally be able to.

You work in a genre that’s being pioneered by the likes of XXYYXX, XXXY, Giraffage and more. What’s it like as an up & comer in a genre that’s so new but already has such defined names leading the charge? I mean you already have a fairly sizeable following, is that something you ever expected?

En fait, c’est grace à eux que je me suis trouvé, ce genre me correspond vraiment. Dès le départ j’étais sur la meme longueur d’onde, que ce soit au niveau des sonorités ou des rythmes. J’ai tout de suite, apprécié leurs technique et c’est ce qui m’a motivé à produire. C’est vrai que je ne m’attendais pas à autant d’audience et ça me fait vraiment plaisir de voir tous ces commentaires d’encouragements. ça me pousse vraiment à continuer.

Actually, I found myself thanks to them, this genre corresponds to what I am. Since the beginning, I was on the same wavelength concerning sounds & rhythms. I immediatly appreciate their techs and that’s what motivates me to produce. To be honest I didn’t expect such a following and it makes me glad to see all this positive feedback. It makes me want to continue.

If you could produce a track with any band/producer/singer etc. who would it be and why? What kind of track would it be?

En ce moment, je suis en train de faire quelques sons avec un producteur de Los Angeles, Yoofer. Il m’a contacté, j’ai écouter ce qu’il faisait et ça m’a tout de suite plu. Son style Trap, hip hop est surprenant à son âge et vu les différences qu’il y a entre nos styles, j’ai adoré le résultat et je pense que ça ne s’arrêtera pas là.

Right now I’m making some sounds with a producer from Los Angeles called Yoofer. He contacted me, I listened to his productions and I immediately liked it. His trap and hip hop style is amazing! Just seeing the differences between our styles; I really enjoyed the result and I think the collaboration won’t be our last.

Dream performance location for a DJ Set?

Je sais pas vraiment. Je serai tenté de dire partout. Mais si je dois choisir un endroit, Je dirais en Angleterre.

I don’t really know, I’d be tempted by everywhere & anywhere. If I had to choose, I’d say England.

And what do you think the future holds for yourself and your music?

C’est ce que j’ai envie de faire alors, je pense qu’il pourrait me reserver pas mal de surprises. Du moins, je l’espère. En tout cas, je me donne les moyens de reussir.

Music is really what I want to do, I think the future can hold a lot of surprises. I hope so anyway. I will use any means possible to achieve my goals.

Monsieur Impotep; all of the artist that we interview for Bite the Belt share a common soul, a deeper understanding of emotion and beauty in their music. Can you explain at all where this might come from in yourself? Or is it something beyond explanation?

Dans ce que je compose, j’essaye de reproduire mes émotions, ce que j’ai pu vivre intérieurement. Mon passé a beaucoup influencé mes sons et c’est ce que j’ai envie de montrer. Ce que j’adore, quand j’écoute une musique, c’est de ressentir quelque chose. En comprenant ce que l’auteur a voulu faire passer et grâce à ce style musical, je peux enfin extérioriser certains sentiments. Par exemple, dans Over, j’ai pu retranscrir mon désir d’échapper à la monotonie, ma mélancolie ainsi que ma tristesse.

In my compositions I try to reproduce my emotions, what I could have lived inside of me. My past has influenced my tracks and that’s what I want to show in them. What I enjoy when I listen to music is feeling something. After having understood how to author my compositions and with this music style I can finally express some feelings. For example, in Over, I could re-transcribe my desire for escape from monotony, my melancholy and also my sadness.

Any tips for aspiring producers/DJ’s out there?

Il faut avoir envie de le faire. Faut être amoureux de ce qu’on fait, savoir être ouvert d’esprit. Eviter de se rendre malade pour la musique. Seulement balancer ce qu’on ressent, ce qu’on veut donner, partager et tout se passera bien.

You must want to do it! You have to be in love with what you do, to keep an open mind. Avoid being sick with music. Just throw what you feel, what you want to give & to share and it will be fine…


Imotep inspires me in that he doesn’t go about his day letting the music that he listens to warp his imagination and build creativity from there, he lets his imagination warp his day and thus create his music from that which he sees and feels.

A clever man with a musical style that might be too strange, to broken, to unpredictable for some. But if your mind is as open as his, it’s just right.

soundcloud.com/officialimotep
youtube.com/user/Kadoo54
facebook.com/officialimotep

Jesuie Josh

One thought on “An interview with – Imotep

  1. Pingback: Le traditionnel repas du conseil de police s’est déroulé dans les locaux de l’école des Forges a Ciney | FACHISM│TERRORISM│THE PROGRAM│STAY-BEHIND NETWORK│BELGIUM CINEY│GANG STALKING

Your thoughts?

