Introducing The Cinematic Orchestra

Old news for some and new shades of light for others.

The Cinematic Orchestra is, alongside Bonobo and many others, another fast choice for the BBC and almost any docudrama on any channel going. But that’s hardly an introduction. Think modern day orchestral composition with the odd electronic fusion. To be honest I really need to do more research before I go blurting these posts out but I’m either full of knowledge and facts to no end on an artist or none at all. In this case it’s none at all but zero knowledge walking hand in hand with outstanding admiration for this project and definitely “To Build a Home”. As a stand alone single it’s beautiful but here, live (in the YouTube video above), breath taking.

The SoundCloud link above is the first track in their latest album (a compilation of multiple artists, put together by the Cinematic Orchestra) and I first heard it when I was left on my bonesum at the airport for my very first trip alone. Off to Morocco on a venture to try and put some direction in my life, do something better and the album near enough played as the soundtrack to the entire ordeal.

One night I stood atop the roof of our house and looked up at the Moroccan sky, which was fucking beautiful might I add and as I thought about the things I had seen during my time there. The things I had learned. The girl friend I missed at home. How sad I felt about the world. How happy I felt about some smaller things in the world. I listened to one song that struck a chord with me more than anything else in the entire album. The track, after a fair few minutes of slightly un-easing orchestral madness does eventually drift into a more melodic and up-lifting piece which moves me so. Methedrone Tom, at a mere 17, in his trackies and flat-peak didn’t share the same enthusiasm for the piece as I did but I hope that you will.

It’s a modern soundtrack built for a short film made many years ago in 1924. The track shares it’s name with the film. The film is as confusing and bizarre as any short film is and gave my outlook on the piece of a music a slightly different twist, so perhaps listen with your eyes closed and then watch again at a later date? To be fair the visuals made me enjoy the prelude to my favourite piece of the composition more so than I had before so maybe it doesn’t matter. Anyway, from 9.30 onwards is a completely different journey to the first nine minutes and thirty seconds. Though no skipping! The contrast in mood is what makes it such a beautiful thing.

Without knowing it I was introduced to the Cinematic Orchestra long before this album, however. My sister, for one, was a big fan of the “To Build A Home” track and I would hear her often playing it herself and singing in her room and as such I became familiar with the song and would sing (make up) what I thought it went like in my shower time. I’m more confident with the lyrics these days after a good many hours of fiending out on the Live performance at the top of the post but you’ll be lucky to catch me singing when anyone’s around.

But then I was sent a video which I might have posted before… I don’t think I have. But aside from the amazing soundtrack “The Arrival Of Birds” provided by the orchestra this is also one amazing piece of filmography. Emotional and literally has me a bit cut up come the end of the play. I’m a soppy shit I can assure you of that.

Beautiful and admirable. The Cinematic Orchestra. There’s musical life outside of your standard modern boxes kids.

www.cinematicorchestra.com

Josh

One thought on “Introducing The Cinematic Orchestra

  1. Pingback: The Cinematic Orchestra wth Philharmonia Australia @ Hamer Hall – 11 Oct ’13 | a higher revelation

Your thoughts?

